Last Updated: July 11, 2021, 6:02 p.m.

CNS President (2021 - 2022)

Kamal D. Verma


Kamal Verma is currently Chief Nuclear Engineer with Canadian Nuclear Partners SA and Executive Advisor with Laurentis Energy Partners (subsidiaries of Ontario Power Generation). Prior to this, he was Vice President – CANDU 6 Fleet Engineering with Candu Energy Inc., a division of SNC-Lavalin Nuclear.

He has a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Punjab University (India) and a master’s degree in mechanical engineering from Tuskegee University, Alabama, USA. He is a Registered Professional Engineer in Ontario and New Brunswick.

He is the current 1st Vice President and incoming President of the Canadian Nuclear Society and       the immediate past President of the Pacific Nuclear Council (PNC). He has over forty years of experience having previously worked with Ebasco Services, Canatom Inc., Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd and Candu Energy covering design, construction, and commissioning of four CANDU 6 nuclear power plants worldwide. He has held positions of increasing responsibilities in systems engineering, project management, engineering, operations/maintenance support and preparations for retubing/refurbishment of CANDU 6 plants in Canada, China, Romania, South Korea, and Argentina. More than thirty years of his experience involve being part of the CANDU 6 Nuclear Power Plants site organizations in Canada (Point Lepreau), China (Qinshan) and Romania (Cernavoda) in senior management and senior technical advisory level positions to improve plants safety, reliability, productivity and efficiency.

He is a strong advocate of the use of nuclear power for peaceful purposes and is very much willing to outreach the public and students to promote benefits of nuclear power and its clean image message to address climate change concerns.

Past CNS Presidents

2020-21Aman Usmani
2019-20Keith Stratton
2018-19John Luxat
2017-18Daniel Gammage
2016-17 Peter Ozemoyah
2015-16Paul D. Thompson
2014-15Jacques Plourde
2013-14Adriaan Buijs
2012-13John Roberts
2011-12Frank Doyle
2010-11Adriaan Buijs
2009-10Dorin Nichita
2008-09Jim Harvie
2007-08Eric Williams
2006-07Dan Meneley
2005-06John Luxat
2004-05Bill Schneider
2003-04Jeremy Whitlock
2002-03Ian Wilson
2001-02Dave Jackson
2000-01Ken Smith
1999-00Krish Krishnan
1998-99Paul Thompson
1997-98Ben Rouben
1996-97Hong Huynh
1995-96Jerry Cuttler
1994-95Ed Price
1993-94Paul Fehrenbach
1992-93Bill Midvidy
1991-92Gil Phillips
1990-91Hugues Bonin
1989-90Eva Rosinger
1988-89Ken Talbot
1987-88Irwin Itzkovich
1986-87Nabila Yousef
1985-86Joe Howieson
1984-85Peter Stevens-Guille
1983-84John Hewitt
1982-83Phil Ross-Ross
1981-82Phil Ross-Ross
1980-81George Howey