Last Updated: June 26, 2017, 11:36 a.m.

The R.E. Jervis Award recognizes excellence in research and development carried out by a full time graduate student in nuclear engineering or related fields described below.

The Award was established in 1992 by former students of Professor Robert E. Jervis of the University of Toronto, and the CNS to honour his achievements. The Award was in the past administered by the University of Toronto, and is now sponsored and administered by the Canadian Nuclear Society. The Award consists of a $1,000 bursary. The Award is granted only once per year, and only if a suitable candidate has been identified. The Award is presented at the CNS Annual Conference.

The recipient must be a full-time graduate student at a Canadian university, who is pursuing research involving radiochemistry, radiation chemistry, chemistry in nuclear systems, or the use of nuclear research reactors in applied chemistry or chemical engineering studies.

Nomination letters for the award should be submitted by the Head or Director of the student’s department and include a brief curriculum vitae with a list of any publications, papers or presentations and a copy of graduate school transcripts. It should also include a brief (one page maximum) text describing the student’s project that highlights significance of the research and evidence of progress, and a reference letter from the research supervisor confirming the student’s progress.


Past recipients of the R.E. Jervis Award:

  • 2017 - Mojtaba Momeni
  • 2016 - Amjad Farah
  • 2015 - Eugene Saltanov
  • 2014 - Madison Andrews
  • 2013 - Pamela Yakabuskie
  • 2013 - Sahil Gupta
  • 2012 - Sarah Mokry
  • 2011 - Kevin Daub
  • 2010 - Aba Mortley
  • 2009 - Pellumb Jakupi
  • 2008 - Emily Corcoran
  • 2007 - Michael Broczkowski
  • 2007 - Jared Smith
  • 2005 - Laura-lee Innes (Brown)
  • 2004 - Bill Santos
  • 2003 - Sarah Attia
  • 2002 - Tutun Nugraha
  • 2002 - Lt. Larry Unsworth
  • 2001 - Lt. Michael Walker (Royal Military College)
  • 1998 - Evon Reynolds (University of Toronto)
  • 1997 - Capt. Danny Pagé (Royal Military College of Canada)
  • 1997 - Mark Ho (University of Toronto)
  • 1996 - Sophie Wang (University of Toronto)
  • 1994 - Hilary Fritas (University of Toronto)
  • Doug Pinto (University of Toronto)