A Comparative Study of Some Spatial-temporal Discretization Schemes for Nonlinear Magnetohydrodynamic Simulation of Plasmas
34th Annual CNS Conference - 2013 June 09-12

Presented at:
34th Annual CNS Conference
2013 June 09-12
Toronto, Canada
Session Title:
Fusion Science & Technology

Dinesh Nath (Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur)
Manjeet Singh Kalra (Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur)
Prabhat Munshi (Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur)


A large number of numerical schemes have been developed for the integration of the hyperbolic system of partial differential equations (PDEs) arising in the magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) simulation of plasmas. These schemes can be based on either the combined space and time discretization such as the Lax-Wendroff type schemes, or one may perform first a separate space discretization leading to a semidiscretized set of ordinary differential equations (ODEs), which are then separately integrated in time. In this work, a comparative study of two schemes based on simultaneous discretization of space and time (Richtmyer two-step Lax-Wendroff scheme and MacCormack scheme) and one scheme based on centered-space semidiscretization followed by time integration by the fourth-order Runge-Kutta method, is presented. Particular attention is paid to the applicability of the linear stability criteria to the numerical integration of nonlinear MHD equations with geometry and field components of a linear theta-pinch.

Individual Conference-Paper Copies (Electronic Where Available):

  • For CNS members, the first 5 copies per calendar year are free, and additional copies are $10 each.
  • For non-members, the price is $25 for the first Conference-paper copy in a request, and $10 each for additional copies of papers in the same conference and in the same request.
  • Contact the CNS office to order reprints.