CNS Past Presidents



CNS President (2021 – 2022)

Kamal D. Verma


Kamal Verma is currently Chief Nuclear Engineer with Canadian Nuclear Partners SA and Executive Advisor with Laurentis Energy Partners (subsidiaries of Ontario Power Generation). Prior to this, he was Vice President – CANDU 6 Fleet Engineering with Candu Energy Inc., a division of SNC-Lavalin Nuclear.

He has a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Punjab University (India) and a master’s degree in mechanical engineering from Tuskegee University, Alabama, USA. He is a Registered Professional Engineer in Ontario and New Brunswick.

He is the current 1st Vice President and incoming President of the Canadian Nuclear Society and       the immediate past President of the Pacific Nuclear Council (PNC). He has over forty years of experience having previously worked with Ebasco Services, Canatom Inc., Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd and Candu Energy covering design, construction, and commissioning of four CANDU 6 nuclear power plants worldwide. He has held positions of increasing responsibilities in systems engineering, project management, engineering, operations/maintenance support and preparations for retubing/refurbishment of CANDU 6 plants in Canada, China, Romania, South Korea, and Argentina. More than thirty years of his experience involve being part of the CANDU 6 Nuclear Power Plants site organizations in Canada (Point Lepreau), China (Qinshan) and Romania (Cernavoda) in senior management and senior technical advisory level positions to improve plants safety, reliability, productivity and efficiency.

He is a strong advocate of the use of nuclear power for peaceful purposes and is very much willing to outreach the public and students to promote benefits of nuclear power and its clean image message to address climate change concerns.


Past CNS Presidents

2020-21 Aman Usmani
2019-20 Keith Stratton
2018-19 John Luxat
2017-18 Daniel Gammage
2016-17 Peter Ozemoyah
2015-16 Paul D. Thompson
2014-15 Jacques Plourde
2013-14 Adriaan Buijs
2012-13 John Roberts
2011-12 Frank Doyle
2010-11 Adriaan Buijs
2009-10 Dorin Nichita
2008-09 Jim Harvie
2007-08 Eric Williams
2006-07 Dan Meneley
2005-06 John Luxat
2004-05 Bill Schneider
2003-04 Jeremy Whitlock
2002-03 Ian Wilson
2001-02 Dave Jackson
2000-01 Ken Smith
1999-00 Krish Krishnan
1998-99 Paul Thompson
1997-98 Ben Rouben
1996-97 Hong Huynh
1995-96 Jerry Cuttler
1994-95 Ed Price
1993-94 Paul Fehrenbach
1992-93 Bill Midvidy
1991-92 Gil Phillips
1990-91 Hugues Bonin
1989-90 Eva Rosinger
1988-89 Ken Talbot
1987-88 Irwin Itzkovich
1986-87 Nabila Yousef
1985-86 Joe Howieson
1984-85 Peter Stevens-Guille
1983-84 John Hewitt
1982-83 Phil Ross-Ross
1981-82 Phil Ross-Ross
1980-81 George Howey